Ventura CCW Training
Concealed Carry Weapons Permit Training
California CCW Permit Training Course
By appointment only
Call or email (805) 496-5521 - firstname.lastname@example.org
This course is an approved CCW training course required by the Ventura County Sheriff Department. Applicants will learn the required training in firearm safety and the law of the permissible use of a firearm.
Penal Code section 12050 limits the training of new applicants to 16 hours but mandates a minimum of 4 hours for renewals.
A certificate of completion will be issued to applicants who demonstrate the knowledge and proficiency required - practical test and the written test.
CCW New Applicant Course
CCW Renewal Course
By appointment only - Call to make arrangments.
Call or email (805) 496-5521 - email@example.com
One on One training available
This course is for CCW permit applicants for Ventura County only.
This course does not guarantee a CCW permit.
Get your CCW
Step by step process
1. Obtain an application from Ventura County Sheriff.
VCSD Office or print from online
Ventura County Sheriff’s Office – Records/Licensing Unit
Floor, Sheriff’s Annex
800 South Victoria Avenue
Ventura, CA 93009
2. Make an appointment for a LiveScan - Call (805) 654-2371
Bring complete application, Photo ID and Check for amount.
3 A personal interview will be required for all NEW
Renewal applicants may be
interviewed by telephone. After your application has been received, an investigator will
contact you to schedule an interview appointment. A determination to “Accept” or “Reject” the application for processing will be made after the initial interview by an
investigator and the subsequent background check.
All applicants will be notified of the
results either by phone or by mail.
4. Get trained ! (After receiving notification of "Accepted")
Ventura County CCW Authorized Firearms Instructor
Call us at (805) 496-5521 to make an appointment
or email us - firstname.lastname@example.org
5. After you receive a letter of confirmation of your permit approval, it will be necessary to
schedule an appointment with Sheriff’s Licensing to pick up your C.C.W. permit/I.D. card.
Please call (805) 654-2371 to make this appointment
"You, the applicant, must own a firearm that is properly registered with the California
Department of Justice PRIOR TO submitting an application. Only properly registered
firearms that are registered to the applicant may be submitted with this application."
"ANY MISREPRESENTATIONS, FALSEHOODS, OR DECEPTION STATED IN THIS
APPLICATION, OR DURING THE INVESTIGATOR INTERVIEW, MAY SUBJECT THE
APPLICANT TO A CRIMINAL FELONY OR MISDEMEANOR COMPLAINT FILED WITH THE VENTURA COUNTY DISTRICT ATTORNEY’S OFFICE"
For more information on how to apply for a CCW through Ventura County
Be Advised: Process/Policy changed 03/21/2014
Ventura County Sheriff’s Office (VCSO) policy titled "Carry Concealed Weapons License (CCW)", is hereby adopted as of February 21, 2014 by Sheriff Geoff Dean and shall constitute the policy and practices of the VCSO
relating to licenses and applications for licenses to carry firearms under Cal. Penal Code §§ 26150, et seq.
1. PURPOSE AND SCOPE
The Sheriff, upon proof that the person applying is of good moral character, that the person
applying satisfies residency or business location requirements, and has completed a course of
training (as set forth in this policy) may issue to that person a carry concealed weapons license
(CCW). This policy will serve as the Office's written process for the application and issuance of
such licenses. Pursuant to Cal. Penal Code § 26160, this policy shall be made accessible to the
2. QUALIFIED APPLICANTS
In order to apply for a Concealed Weapons License, the applicant must meet the following
a. Be a resident of the County of Ventura.
b. Be at least 18 years of age.
c. Complete an application that will include substantial personal information, much of
which may be subject to disclosure under the California Public Records Act.
d. Be free from criminal convictions or other prohibiting conditions that would disqualify
the applicant from carrying a concealed weapon.
i. Note: applicants may inquire as to their eligibility to possess and own firearms
prior to submitting an application by completing the "Personal Firearms
Eligibility Check" form, which can be found at
http://ag.ca.gov/firearms/forms/pdf/pfecapp.pdf, and submitting it to the
California Department of Justice (“DOJ”) in accordance with their instructions.
e. Provide fingerprints and successfully complete a criminal background check.
f. Be of good moral character. For purposes of this policy, with respect to a determination
of 'good moral character' the following factors are taken into consideration: honesty,
arrests or negative contacts with law enforcement agencies, conviction of any crime
(including expunged convictions), alcohol or drug-related incidents, numerous moving
violations of the California Vehicle Code, civil judgments, pending lawsuits, liens, etc.
g. For purposes of this policy in reference to good cause, a need for personal safety or selfdefense is currently satisfactory, depending on the ultimate appellate outcome of Peruta v. County of San Diego.
h. Pay all required fees in the manner prescribed in this policy.
i. Complete the required training.
a. For new license applicants, the course of training shall be a minimum of 8 hours/not to exceed 16 hours,
performed by a VCSO-approved CCW firearms trainer, and include instruction on at
least firearm safety and the law regarding the permissible use of a firearm. Training not
required until conditional approval has been granted.
b. For license renewal applicants, the course of training shall be no less than four hours,
performed by a VCSO-approved CCW firearms trainer, and shall include instruction on
at least firearm safety and the law regarding the permissible use of a firearm. No course
of training shall be required for any person certified by the Department of Justice as a
firearms instructor in order for that person to renew a license.
c. Proof of completion of the required training must be signed by the instructor and must
not have been completed more than six months prior to the date of the application.
d. A list of VCSO-approved CCW firearms trainers shall be made available with each copy
of the application provided by the VCSO as well as at its website at www.vcsd.org.
Ventura County, Los Angeles County & Santa Barbara County
Next Firearms Training Classes
CALL TO MAKE APPOINTMENT
One on One training available.
Protect Your Second Amendment Rights!
Click to Sign up or Renew Today.
Small and Private Groups Available !
Call about classes at your location!
Clubs, Organizations, Churches, Small Group of Friends
and state what classes you'd like to schedule and Group size.